The Things I Want You To Remember

When that dreadful day comes – and we all know it’s inevitable, that it’s just a matter of time and situation, I want you to read this. I want to let you know what it is that I want you to remember about us, before finally letting it go.

I want you to remember how I changed for you. I am not telling you this to let you know that you owe me anything, but because I really did – I wanted to change because of you. I wanted to change for you, for myself, and for us.

I want you to remember how much effort we’ve put into each other, into making things work. Remember the fights we used to have, remember where it all went wrong. At least give trying one more time a second thought.

I want you to remember how good it felt when everything was fine. I want you to remember how amazing the feeling was, that nothing compared to being happy with each other. I want you to remember the craziest times of our lives that we’ve spent together, because nothing can ever replace that.

Now, I want you to remember how bad it felt when it was all a mess. In between all the chaos, I want you to remember how lost we both felt, and how we both know that we never want to feel like that again.

I want you to remember my family, how warm their welcomes felt like, the same way that I will remember yours.

I want you to remember all the adventures we both went on, because those were the best times of our lives. I want you to remember the thrill those adventures gave the both of us, because it was one of the best feelings in the world. I want you to remember how getting lost with me felt like – literally getting lost – and then the feeling of relief when we eventually find our way again.

It’s alright if you don’t remember any of the words that I’ve said, any of the letters that I’ve written, or any of the texts that I’ve sent. I want you to look at our photos one last time, and I want you to remember the feelings that were present when we took those photographs. I want you to remember all of it. I want you to reminisce the feelings that we’ve shared, because that is all that’s going to matter.

I want you to remember how you felt about the thought of me, and how you felt about loving me.

Leave a Reply

