To My Best Friend

We started off as complete and total strangers, and some days, I still can’t believe we have made it this far. I am so proud of you. From being that reckless kid back in high school, to being one of the top honor students in college. I am so proud of you for making your parents and all of your friends proud. I still wonder how you managed to pull that off, but I never doubted you. I never knew what you were like back in high school, and I wish I had. I wish we had this friendship sooner. It was from the first time that I met you, I knew you were a keeper.

I can’t thank the Lord enough for blessing me with someone like you. You have no idea how thankful I am of you, how you always make sure that I am home safe, how reliable you are, how you make it certain that no other guy gets to hurt me, how you protect me, and how you pay attention to whatever it is I have to say. Nothing compares to the way you take care of me. I can’t thank you enough for wiping away all of my tears, your wise words that have made me realize a lot of things, your effort to literally come over and see me whenever I call for help, your sense of urgency whenever I call for rescue when I’m drunk, your effort to wake up and reply to my messages at 4 in the morning, and all the other things that you do. Not a lot of people stand by their words when they say “I’ll always be here for you” and you were one of the few people who did, and who still do. You always made sure you were literally either a call or a text away.

Despite all the teasing we have encountered through the course of this friendship regarding why weren’t a couple, I am glad we stayed this way. Things could have gone terribly wrong, but this is the one thing that went by perfectly. It was smooth sailing, at the right pace, just perfect. For that, I am grateful.

Any girl would be the luckiest to have you, and I want the best for you. I hope one day you find what you’re looking for. You are so secretive when it comes to this, and I am the opposite. You know almost every detail about me and (how I handle) my relationships, and I have come to realize that I don’t really know anything about any of yours – actually, I don’t think anyone does, but I sincerely hope you find what you are looking for. You are one of the most genuine people I have ever come across in this life, and you deserve nothing but the best.

I know you might think differently, but you are one of a kind. I don’t think I’ll ever find another you – not in this lifetime. You deserve all the love one can give, all the love in the world, even.

Thank you for being you. You are solid gold. I want you to read this when you are feeling under-appreciated. Please know that I feel so blessed to have come across you and to have kept you after all this time. Always remember that I am proud of all of your achievements, even your mistakes; your flaws, and all the things that make up who you are. I will always be proud of you, and I will always be glad to show off to the world that you are my best friend.

I know you will find the one in due time, and it will be wonderful, one hell of a splendid adventure. Great things don’t come easy, and we both know that. I can’t wait until the day I finally get to see you fall in love again. Until then, I will patiently wait with you until the wind finally blows the right one to your direction.

Leave a Reply

